Po-tay-to po-tah-to

Let me start by saying I am a lucky girl.

To have help and companionship around the house now is making it feel like home again and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  Sorry still glowing and appreciating it all even a month into this living together thing!

88e6caa4aef6d84b97c9bea11fb24cc2

That being said, being a roommate (amongst other titles) it is an adjustment.

Communication is everything to relationships, in so many ways.

Mr Man & I decided to try to give the week nights some planning.  He works everyday til around 5 pm & 3 out of the 5 days I have to be in classes starting at 6 pm. Waiting to see what the other wants to do for dinner or if they already ate can be trying.  Then we play the “I dunno, what are you in the mood for?” game everyone plays.  We have to problem figuring out, but I feel bad those nights he waits til after 8 to hear what I want for dinner.  It can be a long time from lunch sometimes.  So we made a plan.  A lunches and couple of nights we are on our own to grab something somewhere or make sandwiches.  Then we planned out meals for the other nights.  Gives us a chance to try new recipes and show off ones we each know.

Did I mention how lucky I am?  Yes he also cooks!  So we share the duties and planning.  This alone makes me feel cared for.

I made a list of ingredients needed and since the next night was one where I had class, he offered to shop on his own.  (SCORE! I don’t have to go!)

Evidently we didn’t plan as well as I had thought.

When I woke and decided to make a sandwich for lunch, I found the turkey, the cheese, the whole wheat bread and then this….

IMG_20140205_100359

yup CANNED spinach.

Not quite sure how that is going to work for sandwiches!  In making the list I forgot to say FRESH spinach. Spinach that would be used for sandwiches, smoothies and then any leftover could be cooked as a side.  Big difference.

Seems as far as being domestic, I have some learning to do.

We had a good laugh about it & now I’m not sure I will ever be able to open that can.  Something seems right about tucking it into the back as a reminder that to get what I want, I have to ask clearly.  Every time I see it, it makes me giggle.

One thought on “Po-tay-to po-tah-to

Leave a Reply

