1,667 words a day REALLY?

qx4564

November 5k has been scheduled! Excited? Absolutely  & thankfully it will be just in time to be helping get me out of a turkey coma after Thanksgiving!

Has already been a wile November around here but so far so good.

Other than thinking I could possibly be part of this NaNoWriMo challenge! 50,000 words? In ONE month! Sounded easy but nothing says bring on the obstacles like setting a challenge up.  Has been a really busy weekend & looks like with school work, working out, family & friends time…. well writing just is getting tougher to fit in.  Still I know that is why we focus – to make it happen.  So far it seems like inspiration and great ideas seem to come at those times where I am away from my laptop.  Couple of times I have written down the ideas, but I have yet to add them into the actual piece I am working on.

 No clue how many words per day I would typically write if I were writing but having the goal of 1,667 words to aim for is enough to take your breath away & make your mind shut down as soon as I open the file.

Second guessing everything is a challenge too.  Which way to go with each moment, how to describe everything I see in my head, etc.  So many roads that can be wandered down & making decisions on a deadline just is clogging up my mind.  Writing something to turn around to change it all means less words that day and a general feeling like now I need to write 5,000 words each day!

Plus there are just so many distractions in this house.  So many other things to do that are popping up.  Maybe it is due to the holidays barreling down on us faster than the first person through the door at a Best Buy Black Friday sale.  Either way I WILL find my way around the obstacles.  Just have to try a few new things to build up the habits.

What it all boils down to is this..

28e8fe31c2737c00c104fef4fc5b9b4c

I need to stop worrying about it being so awesome (well as awesome as I want it to be) & just do it.  Stop being so hesitant & careful that I don’t do it.  I am doing this for me.  To prove to myself I can.  Not to publish something, but to achieve something.  50,000 words in one month… why not?

Just have to breath deep & look at it like everything else.

poster3

Step by step.

That first 5k started with a single step.

This will happen word by word.

Now if only I could find a way to write while exercising!

 

Leave a Reply

