Just a Mermaid Sitting on a Thrift Shop Shelf

2013-06-15_17-45-08_627

There are days in life I feel like this.

Took this picture when I went to a huge antique mall with my sister, nephew, aunt & cousins. Driving there I knew I didn’t need anything but memories.  Looking through everything, brought back so many seeing stuff that was similar to items we had over the years.  The hours created new ones.

Certain things we looked at spoke to me but instead of spending money & bringing them home to stress over what to do with them, I did my version of photo-shop.  Taking pictures rather than items home.

The painted cast iron mermaid spoke to me as soon as I entered that room.  She wasn’t that expensive & I started to spend the money to make her mind.  Something about her just delighted me and felt like she was mine.  Then I reminded myself money is tight & I don’t need anything.  She went back to the shelf and I moved on.

Over the week since I have stumbled on the picture I took many times and the image just makes me happy.

Lately I find myself feeling disconnected.  Conversations and observing others leave me feeling like I don’t relate to people around me.  It hit me that so many times I feel like the mermaid on the shelf.  Surrounded by other things that are completely different sitting and waiting to find her place in the world. Like some how I wound up made of something completely different than all around me.

Of course it also connects since I too find my peace with the ocean.

She has become a reminder that even when we don’t fit in, there is beauty in being who we are.  Even when tossed aside or left behind, there is value in us. Connections and getting noticed don’t require epic efforts.  Sometimes you just have to wait a while.  Feeling blue is ok if it is true and you. So much she says to me.   Every time I glimpse the photo, I smile.  

Funny how a simple object can speak volumes to your soul so unexpectedly.

To someone else, it is just a cast iron mermaid painted blue.

To me, she is divine art.

I may have to go back to see if she still sits and waits.

If not I have the photograph…. & of course the memory.

“It is the function of art to renew our perception. What we are familiar with we cease to see. The writer shakes up the familiar scene, and, as if by magic, we see a new meaning in it.” ~ Anais Nin

Leave a Reply

