the BEST Snacks

Lately a lot of my time has been spent thinking of food.

Planning meals, cooking meals, helping to feed meals.  Clean up, shop & do it all again.  Trying to keep things interesting yet healthy and within the preferences of the group.  Working with what you have and staying within a budget can be a challenge at times.  All part of life.

For a big part of my life, I avoided food.  Many reasons some I still battle with, some are distant memories.  Even learning to let go and eat for enjoyment and substance, I still wanted the perfect body.  Guilt is a frequent mealtime companion, even if most bites shut it up.  I don’t struggle like I used to but I still long for that perfect body.

Lately, my perfect body has changed.  No longer do I wish I still fit into a size 6.  Watching my mom’s body shrink away has given me a new appreciation for every bite I take and every stubborn pound I wear.  Health matters more than being a vision in a photograph.

Thankfully I can eat pretty much what I want, when I want.  I am physically able to walk to a fridge and open it whenever I like.  Spoons aren’t too heavy for me to manipulate.  A box of juice is easy to finish in one sitting.  There is food in my pantry to choose from.

For these things I am very thankful.

On the way home from class, I stopped and had a chocolate milkshake in celebration of all that I am thankful for.  Not a single guilty thought allowed.  I could almost swear it tasted better that way.

So when I saw today’s list for the 52 Lists it made me laugh.  52 Snacks.  Food.  Again I am to think about food!

52 Snacks

 

 

2 thoughts on “the BEST Snacks

  1. I wrote my list and I completely forgot about those dried mango slices. Trader Joe’s mango is the absolute best! I think I may need DJ to bring me there tonight. One bag lasts about 10 minutes. They are absolutely delicious. Thanks for the reminder ;).

Leave a Reply

