Great Hostess Twinkie Run 2012

Of course the day I post about thinking of getting back into a more structured plan of exercising I end up going running!

Although not quite the way I had intended.

Started out with running errands yesterday.  When I woke I browse through Twitter & saw the news that Hostess had decided to close.  Sad, but honestly I couldn’t remember the last time I actually had anything they made.  When I was younger I loved the fat free Twinkies, but doubt they even made those any more.  The hundred calorie cupcake packs had a place in my world for a while, but again I couldn’t remember the last time I had those either.  Even the breads, Wonder, Merita, Nature’s Pride…. no clue when I had gotten any of them last.  Just wasn’t me anymore.

Yet the child inside got slightly nostalgic and I decided I would pick up a box of something for old times sake since I had to go to the store anyway.

Target was the first stop.

I looked for the traditional box featuring the sponge cake picture with Twinkie the Kid beside, but it was no where to be found.  Just an empty space.

Maybe I wasn’t alone in the idea.  Oh well.  The chocolate filled ones seemed odd to me.  I decided to snag a box of the cup cakes & I just walked on.  As I walked I thought about Twinkie & how it was strange to think it would no longer be an option, even if one I never used.

Turned the corner & to my surprise hanging on the side of one of the end caps was a display with $1 snacks – WITH TWO 2 PACKS OF TWINKIES!

Suddenly the sugar rush hit & I felt like I had won!  I got the last two Twinkie packages in Target!  ha ha…. I win! (what I’m not sure?… diabetes?)  I boastfully posted my achievement on Facebook eager to share my joy.  A friend commented on the post that people were selling them like hot cakes on ebay (you knew this was going to be FILLED with puns right?)  I hadn’t had a clue but after a quick check on ebay I realized how hilarious this really was.

Seriously? there are people out there who love them so much that they are paying THOSE amounts!? Suddenly I started thinking about selling my last two packs.  Or maybe sell one, eat one?

Then it hit me… I wasn’t the only one who ate those Twinkies.

So I called my Dad.  Thought I have four & if they really are such a rare commodity, it could be fun for us all to eat our “LAST TWINKIE EVER” together.  He declined.  He has been great watching everything he eats lately after a recent scare at the doctor.  He is checking his blood sugar a couple times a day in order to get a better idea of what is going on & in hopes to avoid anything serious.  So a twinkie? nah not really in his diet plan anymore.   Mom never ate them so she was a no go.

Maybe I would be selling one of the packs after all.

Texted my sister & brother-in-law.  She was like mom, uh no way.  But in my bro-in-law… I had found a Twinkie fan who like me hadn’t had one in over a decade!  (Guessing this is more the reasoning behind the shut down than any union strikes.)  So it was decided.  One had his name on it.

A trip to the grocery store (already planned for other things) proved to me again the scarcity of the local Twinkies.  All I found was another wiped out shelf.

Joked with a couple of friends about the end of the world coming & had a few laughs.  Really sad to see so many jobs lost & the end of something so iconic, but honestly none of us has eaten one in a LONG time.  Just wasn’t even something we though about.

Friday night date night wasn’t very thought out beyond going somewhere for dinner, but things took a turn for the strange after discussing the Twinkie shortage.  I’m a big fan of scavenger hunts & random acts of funny.  Suddenly it became a great idea to rush to every grocery store we saw to see IF there were Twinkies left.

Time after time, the same results…… wiped out shelves & the leftover lesser known Hostess products like mini-muffins, zingers, cinnamon rolls, etc.

I got into the excitement of it all & as silly as it sounds, there was hilarity in seeing the last box being checked out right in front of us by an older lady.  If only we had been a few moments sooner, it COULD have been ours!  Racing to find the location since there didn’t seem to be much consistency even between stores of the same chain.

Only once out of the 9 places were we actually able to find Twinkies.  Regular yellow sponge, normal cream filled Twinkies.  Technically I got to the display first.  I looked & thought nope.  None there either.  Hidden on the bottom shelf, in the very back corner was ONE BOX.  The last box.  Just beyond my gaze & now my grasp.  So close!

I may not have gotten the last box of Twinkies, but I did enjoy the ridiculous race that will never happen again.  For some reason it just doesn’t seem like something that will ever happen again.  Memory made.

I can look back on this point in history & say I was one of those nutty people who dashed around trying to scoop up Twinkies.

Why?

Just because I could.  Having random fun in life is what it is all about right?

Also decided that I would see if the ebay buzz is all it has been hyped up to be.  With a twist.  IF the ones I list sell, I will donate a part of the money to the local Food Bank.  Just seems like the appropriate thing to do.

Leave a Reply

