Hurdles or Road-blocks

Oh what a day.  Tried to get to work. No go.

Tried to get some sleep since I was home.  Thanks to some chatty parrots & a neighbor with a drum set & clearly way more energy than me today – no luck there either.

this chick has way more energy than me

Changed the sheets on my bed half way through the day – exhausted.  Breathing is a struggle it seems & although everything inside me said just lay back and be a bump on a log today, another part of me said – you have done 15 days straight of working out, why give it up now?  I’m sick that’s why.

I gave up trying to sleep, hoping that soon the drummer would have to go run an errand or something & tried one last time to get into the book I have slowly been reading.  The story started to pick up, yet slowed again.  I kept reading.  My achy body decided that even clicking the pages on my iPod touch was draining.  So I switched to the laptop’s bigger screen so more words would fit on the screen.  Then I got tired of laying that way to be able to see.  Whiny much? clearly.  Complete tragedy of first world pains.  Oh the agony. {feel free to roll your eyes again}  There is a point here to this insanity.  My privileged self thought how good that Kindle Fire would be right about now.   Tempted I went to the online site & toyed with the idea of just ordering the danged thing already.  Then I didn’t want to wait for it to arrive.  Maybe the local Best Buy had restocked.  I could just shower off the funk of laying around and go pretend I wasn’t sick & pick one up.  Surely I could get the energy up to do that & then crash.

REALITY CHECK

Sure I COULD do that, but where is the fun in that?  Self gratification is a great thing sometimes, but in this case wouldn’t it also be defeating?  I could go get the Kindle Fire & just give up on the whole working out daily goal.  Would be really easy to do today.  Then I was reminded of a quote I have always loved:

“In his pursuit of the dream, he was being constantly subjected to tests of his persistence and courage.” ~ Paulo Coelho in the Alchemist

Was this whole thing I test of my dedication?  Call me crazy but I really didn’t want to give up this easy.  No money riding on it or any accountability to anyone but myself, but still.

“Obstacles are like wild animals. They are cowards but they will bluff you if they can. If they see you are afraid of them, they are liable to spring upon you; but if you look them squarely in the eye, they will slink out of sight.” ~ Orison Swett Marden

So yes.  No Kindle Fire for me today.  I worked out.  It was not 30 minutes straight, instead I opted for 10 minutes in 3 separate sessions.  Slow walking but done.  Probably burned the calories of a strawberry and earned no cardio credit for today, but I stayed with the goal.  One step closer to the habit happening again.

Also turns out that by staying the distance, the book is growing on me.  Dawned on me that over the years there have been plenty of books I have read that I never would have opened if it hadn’t been required reading.  Some of those stories that I dreaded & trudged through ended up sticking with me and teaching me so much more than I expected them to.

As easy as it would be just to go find something else to read, I realize one thing today – something I have known all along.

(ok well maybe I did quit smoking in 2001, but otherwise… not a quitter!)

Leave a Reply

