Day 12. Resolve or Dissolve

Wondering how long the average resolutions are kept.

Some are broken in hours.  Others days, weeks… but there have to be some that actually become new habits.  Change from resolutions to just everyday life.  There are things left behind without ever realizing we did.  Others come into our lives and stick.  No one says this will be the final page I color, but there is that final piece.  Would we stay a bit more in the lines if we knew? or go all out in reckless abandon filling the sheet on our own terms?  Subconsciously or with thought, we change.

Whether we want to or not.

Week Two check in…

General goalsfor the coming year & next few months…

  • Purge 100 things from my world within the first 2 days of 2012
  • 100 Days challenge – 100 days straight of intentional moving 30 minutes each day – more on that in a second….
  • 10 on 10 – give $10 to a non-profit each month on the 10th – gave to the Cape Fear Literacy Council
  • Read more! – Finished the first book of the year! 48% into the next one and I am loving it.
  • Budget each month prior to the month & stick with it – so this is where all the cash goes…. crap. I need to make more cash or do better at this.

As for the more traditional resolutions:

  • Try one new thing each week – didn’t think this would be so hard to think of new things! Must think up something quick.
  • Cook something each week – I baked. It came from a mix, but I baked.  Thankfully they were not all for me but I did enjoy a couple – quality control of course.
  • Take one photo I love each week – last week, well nothing.  I took pictures. But do I love them? eh. Maybe a couple.  This week… a phone pic from this morning melts me!

oh Baxter! So sleepy, yet I dragged him out early to go get his nails trimmed.

  • Continue my love affair with Post Crossing nothing to report on this yet for the week.  Maybe I will mail out another tomorrow.
  • Floss daily – in all honesty. yesterday, I didn’t floss. today, I did.
  • Meditate more – at least weekly – nope. not so far. When did this go from often to never anyway? Why did I stop meditating?
  • Daily food picture –  366 dishes – I seriously need to eat better & this is proof for sure.
  • Spend an hour with someone else outside of work each week – there are a couple of events this weekend I am looking forward to.  I just feel drained after work & a day listening to people complain does not exactly make me feel like being around people.  Thankfully the parrots don’t talk too much.

So back to that 100 Day Challenge.  Did I work out?  Well, my lazy butt is feeling especially tired tonight.  Thought, well I could do an hour tomorrow since its already so late tonight.  Then…

that came on TV.  I’m not even kidding.  That very commercial.  Divine message?  Perhaps.  Perhaps not.  Either way, it was certainly motivation that I needed.  Had to laugh out loud, shake my head & smile.

So up & onto the treadmill.  Thankfully Thursdays are good nights for TV to distract & the parrots each got to take a turn hanging out while I worked out.  Just 30 minutes.  Nothing spectacular or intense, but its done.  One step closer to that Kindle Fire at the end.

No.  I will not quit on day 12.

Leave a Reply

