Newness all around OR I like hooker shoes

So much new in my life TODAY!

First Baxter got his new harness!

My sweet BAX is so cute!

I finally got around to getting Baxter a Puppia harness.  All the other pugs at the dog park have them.  At first I just thought it was a trend, but after learning more about them found out they are easier on his neck.  Pugs are tricky when it comes to their necks & heads.  I was actually warned that its not entirely uncommon for their eyes to pop out if they experience a blow to the head or hard jerk on the neck. Since I enjoy my dog keeping both his eyes IN his head, I thought why not try the harness if its easier than the regular collar.  He is fine around my house & in general anywhere.  BUT when my parents’ dane/lab got attitude, he didn’t back down.  There is something about her he doesn’t particularly care for.  They are fine until she gets annoyed.  So in an effort to be able to separate easier in case of another fight, we are getting use to wearing a harness. So far so good!

Then there is Binx.

the very vocal peach fronted (yes he is molting thus the spiky head)

Oh Binx.

I have to remind myself frequently that Binx had a hard start to life.  I may have mentioned previously that he came from a guy who was in college & didn’t realize what he was getting into in getting a conure.  They scream.  That’s what they do in nature. Scream.  In the morning, they greet the day.  In the evening they call out to find the others & gather in a safe space to sleep.  Their calls need to travel miles to communicate, yet we ask them to use their “indoor voice”.  That doesn’t make sense to them.  To try to supress the screeching, the original owner ended up keeping Binx (known by another name then) in a closet covered.  Without the positive interaction & training, we developed a few issues.  As much as we struggle to communicate sometimes it clicks.  I LOVE those moments where we get it. Tonight I got one! Bijou & Groucho now greet me or get my attention a lot of times through making kissing noises.  I tend to blow a few back.  Tonight Binx for the second time ever instead of screeching, made kissy noises! Trust its MUCH easier on the ears!  He was so excited when I responded by watching him & mimicking HIS noises.  Baby steps.

So with this new moon I got news.

Phone range this morning with the news that the staffing agency wanted me to come in.  I expected something after the conversation we had at the interview last week so no real surprise.  Hoping for some temporary work I got dressed & went in.  I got lucky!  They wanted me to work AT THE AGENCY!  They needed someone with a Human Resources background!  I got that & now I get to increase the experience!  I’m excited.

One of the changes in my work habits is going to be dressing nice.  While jeans & sneakers are great, I’m looking forward to a more professional appearance every day.  I get to be girly!  Its been a loooooong time since I have had a job where I don’t need to be ready to get dirty.  No closed toes needed.  In fact one of the suggestions made when I asked about the dress code, was you can wear dressier shoes.  (I was in my safe, comfy conservative black leather slip ons!)

So celebratory shoe shopping I went!

Unfortunately I didn’t see anything I liked that I thought would work, but I did notice a trend in the ones I did like!

saw these babies again... so fun, but not what I need today

step in the right direction but still... thinking I shouldn't go glitter on my first day

{SIGH} these REALLY wanted to come home with me. I had to be strong & leave the Guess on the shelf....for now at least. I really loved those.

yup. Sparkly heels!

No where to wear those really, so I didn’t buy any, but I had fun dreaming.

Its going to be great getting back to wearing heels again somewhere other than a rare Friday night!

So times up!

loving these

The relaxation & recharge phase is over.  Time to get back to reality.

While I would love to drop everything to be by someone’s side when they are going through the chemo process, she has made it very clear that my working somewhere I can love and learn is more important to her.  I know she has been worried about me getting back on my feet again, so hoping this takes some weight off her shoulders.  There are always weekend visits.

So as of 8:30 am tomorrow, I am again a working girl.

…..OH & expect more on how I deal with that fabulous lunch break I get! and yes this job does include an actual hour lunch break!  Which is great since Baxter has not been invited to the team.  He promises to be my lunch date every day!

Leave a Reply

