Homes – Habitat for Humanity

Only in the darkness can you see the stars. ~Martin Luther King Jr.

As much thought as I have been putting into my own house & life, I wanted to take a moment to be grateful for what I have.  I am extremely lucky to have a place to call home.  I may loath it at times, but it keeps me dry & gives me a place to be me.

So many people are still longing & working towards having a place of their own.

This morning on the way to work (yes I had to work today rather than volunteering in honor of Martin Luther King), I passed by a man who was just getting started for the day.  His sleeping bag was still laying in the grass next to the busy road & he was standing up to stretch.  Part of me want to call the cops to make sure he stopped sleeping there,  found a shelter or just moved on…. but then a voice inside said “Why? Who is he bothering? I’m sure he would love to sleep somewhere else, but this may be the safest place he has.”  Then I wanted to cry.  Most, including myself, have never slept a night outside apart from camping.  We have a place to retreat from the elements & feel secure. 

Course I imagine his view as he falls asleep is magestic! All the stars in the sky along with the moon are his nightlight.

Its a beautiful thing that most people know exactly what you mean when you say the words “Habitat for Humanity”.

The international non-profit group began helping people build affordable houses in 1976. Since then their volunteers have helped them build over 350,000 houses around the world!

In high school a group I was in spent a day working laying brick for the foundation for a house.  Never in my life would I have thought that a group of high schoolers like myself would be able to build the foundation.  But we did!  There was one guy who knew what he was doing & he directed us.  We carried so many bricks that day we were sore for a while afterward, but it was so heart warming knowing that we helped.  Also gave us all a sense of confidence in that we could do things we never thought we could.  We watched that piece of dirt develop into a shape that would become a home.  I will never forget that experience.

If you live in the Cape Fear area, our local Habitat for Humanity is always in need of a few extra hands to help.  If you don’t live here,(… well I am sorry, have you seen how beautiful this place is???) check how you can get involved in your area

Also don’t forget that even if you don’t have the energy or time to help with projects, you can still support them by visiting their store to donate or shop:

 

Wilmington Cape Fear Habitat For Humanity ReStore

1208 S 3rd St Wilmington, NC 28401-6108

Phone: (910) 762-4793

Email: homestore@capefearhabitat.org

Leave a Reply

